Food

Well, because we’ve been staying with people we’ve been able to cook some meals instead of eating out all the time, which is great because it means I get to do what I do best. There are a lot of jokes out there about how bad English food is, and I can’t really speak to that, but I can say that they have lots of ingredients at their disposal so it seems like they should be able to do something good with them. I made this killer salad the other night (Ben is still raving) using my new salad formula. I think I should patent it really. Basically, use spinach or salad greens+any fruit+any nut+any cheese. This stems from my love affair with a particular salad at Toro Bravo which involved almonds, grapefruit(!) and sheeps’ cheese. Anyway, I saw this cheese at the outdoor market. It’s called Wensleydale and this variety has cranberries added and since I am such a fan of Wallace and Grommit I just had to buy it. So I did Wensleydale and pistachios and some (very bitter) apple and then just a simple vinaigrette and I have to say it turned out quite delicious. I don’t have any pics of the market or the salad, but I am posting a pic of a very cute bottle of juice that I had the other day (American beverages are so LARGE) and also some strawberries that are actually quite yummy considering it’s freaking October. Not grown in the UK, obviously. Eat your hearts out.CIMG1163

yum!
About krisawayfromhome

Back at home, but still a bit uneasy. Cooking my way to salvation?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

