Happy Thanksgiving

Last night my friend Rosie came over and the three of us had a pseudo-Thanksgiving dinner together. I say pseudo because I wasn’t really able to do it the way it would have been done back home, due to the utter lack of several key ingredients (canned pumpkin, cranberry sauce) and the staggering cost of others ($41 turkey). This was Rosie’s first Thanksgiving and so we had a little chat about what people in the US typically eat. I felt a little weird trying to describe a “typical” meal, as I am aware that I come from a particular background and Our food is not necessarily what someone in another part of the country (ie the south, the northeast) might consider typical. I think my family does a pretty traditional spread though: turkey, mashed potatoes, corn, sweet potatoes, bread, cranberry sauce, and I tried to recreate that here. Depending on who you ask it was either delicious and exciting or the most mediocre meal ever made. I’ll let you guess which critique belongs to whom. And to go along with what I considered a less than stellar performance, here are my less than stellar photos:

Just for the record we ate: roast chicken, mashed potatoes, sweet corn, stuffing, green beans and gluten-free apple pie. the pie was the best part in my opinion, despite the fact that the gluten-free crust was a little hard and the filling was a little overly sweet (my Granny Smiths were less than tart and silly me didn’t adjust the amount of sugar accordingly). I will say that Rosie is a lovely dinner guest. She brought me a super cute plant, fawned over my meal and didn’t mention the fact that our living room is packed with cardboard boxes (flatmates’ shipped possessions finally arrived yesterday). It was nice to have company for the first time, and it was nice to have a little holiday celebration, even if we were thousands of miles away from our families. I hope everyone out there had a great holiday. Now on to Christmas!

About krisawayfromhome

Back at home, but still a bit uneasy. Cooking my way to salvation?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy Thanksgiving

  1. Allison says:

    WOW, a $41 turkey? Dang. I’ve got a friend in Berlin who did a goose this year since turkey was not exactly on every street corner. Still, it sounds like you managed a pretty delicious feast! Can’t wait for your Christmas experience.

  2. Tiffany says:

    Looks very good for not having all the goods! Why are you spreading the suffering of this holiday on to new people? Don’t get me wrong, the family, friends and food are great, but we all know, Columbus did not discover America and we just continue to celebrate and spread the lie!! just joking…well not really, but I don’t blame you!

    • Yes, there’s nothing better than a holiday that commemorates what turned out to be the beginning of the end for a group of indigenous people. The Native Americans probably should have just let the Brits starve, but then we wouldn’t have an excuse to stuff ourselves silly and play Apples to Apples every year. At least we don’t have to celebrates Columbus Day anymore!

Leave a Reply

