holy. crap.

I have a serious jones for banana bread. I’ve been having it ever since I made it for the first time a few weeks ago, using this lovely recipe (minus the bourbon because, sadly, we had neither bourbon nor Jack). And so, whenever one of our bananas got a bit too ripe for Ben’s taste (re: turns yellow) I threw it in the freezer for safe keeping until I had enough to make banana bread. I just pulled them out of the freezer to thaw and I thought it would probably be easier to pull off the peels before they turned to total mush. Well. I’m not sure how many of you out there have ever held a frozen banana, but I’m pretty sure it’s the coldest freakin’ thing on this planet. I think I gave myself actual frostbite in the 10 seconds I had those things in my hands. My fingers are currently on fire and bright red. As soon as I touched the things I thought “holy crap! is our freezer set to Absolute Zero or WHAT?!?!” Anyway. File this under Took One For the Team. And yes, I know I hate bananas. My mom is probably having some kind of crisis right now reading this post. Who are you and what have you done with my daughter?! Yeah, lately I’ve been enjoying several foods which I previously swore were absolutely inedible and a sad joke on all those who love good food. But that’s a story for another time.

About krisawayfromhome

Back at home, but still a bit uneasy. Cooking my way to salvation?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to holy. crap.

  1. Allison says:

    The trick with frozen bananas for banana bread? Let them thaw ALLLLL the way, then just open the top and squeeze the inside out like toothpaste. works like a charm, every time (although put the bananas in a bowl or something while they thaw, because banana juice on your counters? YUK.

Leave a Reply

