Birthday, part deux

Man, the Mail gods have not been smiling on me lately. I still haven’t gotten my birthday card from one friend, another friend’s card was returned to her, and I had to pay a crap-load of import taxes to get the present my parents sent me out of hawk in the customs office at the airport. But what a sweet, sweet gift it is. Ben has already eaten more than his fair share of the candy contained therein, and I’m just about to break out some of my favorite tea. But the true jewel of this gift is my new digital camera, of which I have pledged to take the best of care. I’m even using the camera case, something previously unthought of for me. (But no, I haven’t stepped off the deep end and clipped it to my belt yet.) I went out with Rosie last night for a few belated birthday drinks (hers was while Ben and I were in Barcelona). Hampered by a raging stomachache, I could only be bothered to drink a couple 125 mL bottles of ginger ale. (Have I mentioned that the ginger ale here has both Canada Dry AND Schwepps on the label? Aren’t those supposed to be competing companies?) I was seriously starting to think that I’d finally given myself an ulcer, but this morning I woke up with a swollen tonsil (yes, just one) and so now I’m fairly certain I’m on the verge of getting sick. It happens to be seriously gorgeous today and I really want to go out for a walk but I’m not sure if I should chance it. Maybe I’ll just make cookies or something. Cookies are always a good idea.

About krisawayfromhome

Back at home, but still a bit uneasy. Cooking my way to salvation?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Birthday, part deux

  1. Yes, cookies *are* always a good idea!

Leave a Reply

