a snack-dream deferred and an update

The grocery store here only sells one kind of canned mandarin oranges, a favorite snack of mine. They hide them on the bottom shelf, meaning that I’ve overlooked them on every trip to the fruit aisle. Today I finally spotted them and nearly jumped for joy. Canned in juice not syrup! No added sugar! Only 100 calories in the whole container! I came home and ate them right away and I am sad to report they aren’t as good as even the lowliest Win-Co brand back home. Oh well.

I was supposed to have an appointment with my volunteer-organizer to talk about lots of important things, but she had to cancel so she could go to a last minute meeting with the grant organization. I can’t really blame her, though, since they’re giving us £200,000. Hard to argue with that much moolah. Hopefully we can reschedule soon so I can get some things straightened out.

My goal for the rest of the day is to make these, and I’m a little scared. Can you believe I’ve never made Rice Krispie Treats before?

Only other news is that I’m teaching myself HTML and CSS (ie how to code/build websites) which might turn into a side job or something. Definitely running low on funds, now that I’ve bought my plane ticket back to the States. Yep. June 8th. This is the official announcement. I expect lots of fanfare and free drinks upon my return. On my to-do list: berry picking at Sauvie Island, camping, beach, Blues Festival, 4th of July fireworks. My appointment book is ready-invite me somewhere!

About krisawayfromhome

Back at home, but still a bit uneasy. Cooking my way to salvation?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to a snack-dream deferred and an update

  1. Oh. My. God. Are you coming back to Portland?? Just for a quick visit, or for a while? We *totally* need to hang out when you’re back 🙂

    • I am coming back but I’m not sure how long. I’ll be there at least 48 days, but I’m not sure yet. There are possible job rumblings here but it depends on a lot of things so I’m not counting my chickens yet. Yes, we totally need to hang out and do something!

  2. Pingback: s.o.s. « Away From Home

Leave a Reply

