what are you, chicken?

Being in a foreign country is cool and all, but sometimes I just really miss America. Yeah, I’ll admit it: I miss giant cars and giant steaks and most of all giant ovens. Our oven is too narrow to fit an 8″x8″ baking dish and 9″ pie plate on the same rack. Think about that for a second. Our oven is less than 17″ wide. The average American oven is 24″ wide. That’s 50% larger people. Obviously, this was evident to me from the moment I first faced our micro-oven. And I spent a lot of sleepless nights trying to forget about all the ways it hindered my gourmet development. Eventually I got over it. Until I saw this.

*whimper*

Yes, this man’s oven is large enough to roast SIX four pound chickens, simultaneously. And I won’t even let myself think about those lucky (and rich) individuals that own a Viking range, which happen to clock in at 36″ inches. Do you know how many pies you can back in a 36″ oven? Ok me either, but I’d sure like to find out. Sometimes life just isn’t fair. Maybe I should start making mini desserts instead?

*image courtesy of The Pioneer Woman

About krisawayfromhome

Back at home, but still a bit uneasy. Cooking my way to salvation?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

