Abandon all hope, ye who enter here

…because once you see this dinner you will have no choice but to run out and make it NOW!

When our flatmates go out for the day, Ben and I have taken to cooking large hunks of meat because no one is here to complain or wrinkle their nose at us. I got a pork roast on sale at the grocery store and it was large enough for us to make two meals. Meal one: taco salad with carnitas and black beans, but that’s another story. This post is about meal two, which was wholly awesome and elicited much praise from my other half. Meal two was barbecue pulled pork ciabattas with creamy slaw and oven friend potatoes. Yes, I made the barbecue sauce. I’ve never made barbecue sauce before so I looked at a bunch of recipes online and decided to go with the simplest one. Bad news: it ended up tasting like mildly seasoned ketchup (to be fair, that’s pretty much what it was). So I threw a bunch more stuff in there, to bring it more in line with some other recipes and ended up with something altogether very tasty. I poured it over the leftover shredded pork and threw it into the oven, half covered, to reheat while I set about toasting the ciabatta rolls and making the creamy slaw. The slaw dressing was basically an adaptation of my favorite potato salad recipe with which Ben and I have become rather obsessed lately. I love it because it uses yogurt in place of some of the mayo, so I can pretend that it’s moderately healthy. As a hint, I never keep buttermilk in my fridge (if I did I’d end up making scones every other day, bad idea!) so instead I use regular ole’ cow juice but add in about a teaspoon of white vinegar which causes it to thicken and sour slightly.

oh baby.


Barbecue Sauce
liberally adapted from Real Simple
1 cup ketchup
1/4 cup cider vinegar
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 T Dijon mustard
1 T chili powder
1 T paprika
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1/2 tsp black pepper

Combine all ingredients in a small saucepan and whisk thoroughly. Heat gently and cook until sauce thickens, stirring frequently, about 5-10 minutes. Beware molten hot splashes! Remove from heat and use as needed. I hear this will keep several weeks in a clear jar in the fridge. Makes about 1 1/2 cups

Creamy Slaw
inspired by this dressing
2 T lowfat plain yogurt
2 T mayo
2 T buttermilk or a scant 2 T regular milk plus 1 tsp vinegar
1 tsp honey
1 shallot, minced
large pinch kosher salt
fresh black pepper to taste (I like lots!)
1 1/2 cups Napa or other cabbage, shredded
3/4 cup radishes, shredded
1/4 cup cilantro, chopped

Whisk dressing ingredients together and refrigerate at at least 30 minutes to allow flavors to get acquainted. In a large bowl, pour dressing over veg and toss to combine. Adjust salt and pepper to taste but remember: too much salt will make your slaw wilt and there’s nothing sadder than limp slaw.

Oven Fried Potatoes
This is one of those recipes I can’t really write out because I typically just throw it together without thinking. It goes something like this: wash and dry as many small new potatoes as you think you’ll eat. Cut them into manageable pieces. Toss with enough olive oil to give them a good sheen, then sprinkle with salt and pepper. Bake in a hot oven (I crank our up as high as it will go, about 475F) until they are golden brown and delicious. This can be anywhere from 15-40 minutes depending on the size of your pieces. I typically flip them after 15 and check for doneness, then play it by ear. Mmm.

Ciabatta
I grant you permission to buy your buns. Not even I go that far when I’m already making three other things!

About krisawayfromhome

Back at home, but still a bit uneasy. Cooking my way to salvation?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Abandon all hope, ye who enter here

  1. Yum! I bookmarked both this recipe & yesterday’s.

Leave a Reply

