Someone needs a dictionary

Far be it for me to bitch (ha ha) but stuff like this just blows my mind. Today I was poking around looking for ideas for dinner tonight and I came across a site which had an amusing name so I went to check it out (this site shall remain nameless, however, because I don’t want to cause any hard feelings in the statistically improbable event that the author should somehow happen across my own blog). It states that it’s a site dedicated to “low-cost home-cooking from scratch” and then goes on to talk about how the author is a real stay-at-home-mom and all these recipes are tested in a real kitchen and eaten by her real kids etc etc. So I’m thinking, ah this is cool, a site about real, honest cooking that involves a little elbow grease but is worth it none the less because we all know that cooking from scratch is better for you and typically also cheaper, yay this is going to be great. Here’s the first recipe on the site:

Mexican Soup
1 can tomato soup
1 can of water
1 can baked beans (or equal amount homemade)
1 medium onion chopped
1 packet taco seasoning
1 can kidney beans drained and rinsed
1 green pepper chopped
1 package hot dogs chopped

Now, I don’t mean to be a snob, but where I grew up, out there in fancy-pants elitist Oregon, “from scratch” meant using ingredients which do not come in processed-can form. Unless you yourself put them into that can last summer after the harvest. So I don’t really see how the author can claim that this is “from scratch” when all she’s really doing is mixing 5 processed foods with two unprocessed ones and heating. To me that’s not really any different than making a frozen pizza. Am I crazy? Am I being a foodie snob? Does this simply represent some kind of intra-country cultural difference? Does this prove that “hillbillies” (her self-description not mine) are failed by their public education system? Not to mention that no self-respecting Mexican would EVER eat this. *sigh*

About krisawayfromhome

Back at home, but still a bit uneasy. Cooking my way to salvation?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Someone needs a dictionary

  1. Courtney G. says:

    Haha, no, you’re not off base. I honestly think it’s a generational thing. Our parents’ generation were brought up on the prepared-foods high, when you could get everything already made and people actually thought it was healthier. (Hello, white enriched bread, anyone?) I think it’s a fairly recent cultural thing to appreciate the frugality and healthfulness of truly homemade food. (Not to say that lots of people haven’t been doing it all along …) That blogger probably does think that since she is spending time in the kitchen (albeit about five mintues), she is making something from scratch. And will it feed her family? Absolutely. Will they like it? Yeah, probably. But is it cheap? Heck no. Is it from scratch? Not by any stretch of my imagination.

    Most unnecessarily long blog comment ever. The End.

Leave a Reply

