quiero tacos

I think the thing I am looking forward to the most when I get back to Portland (aside from friends and family) is Mexican food. It’s virtually nonexistent here and what you do find is very expensive and inauthentic. In London we even came across a restaurant named Wahaca, which I’m assuming is supposed to the a phonetic spelling of Oaxaca, a state in southern Mexico known for chocolate, queso oaxaqueño, striking indigenous embroidery and beautiful Puerto Escondido. While this restaurant says it is “Mexican inspired,” to me it epitomizes what I see as the widespread practice of dumbing-down “exotic” cuisines to accommodate the timid English palate. Even curry, which is considered by many to be the national dish is rendered bland and prosaic. But I digress, soon I won’t be here, I’ll be in Portland chowing down on tacos and avocados that have flavor! And so tonight, in honor of my deep love for Mexican cuisine (and a desire to clear out the freezer), I made pork tacos with pineapple salsa. Kinda like my one true love, tacos al pastor, only without the spit.

About krisawayfromhome

Back at home, but still a bit uneasy. Cooking my way to salvation?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

